Answering the Proust Questionnaire

I just read this article from BrainPickings featuring the Proust questionnaire, “a Victorian version of today’s popular personality tests, designed to reveal the answerer’s tastes, aspirations, and sensibility in a series of simple questions.” I figured I’d like to answer it myself too (actually, I’m just procrastinating before I dive into the pile of work I need to finish before school starts again tomorrow), so here goes:

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Doing what I love and knowing that it matters (inspired by that Katherine Graham quote).

What is your most marked characteristic?
Introversion.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
Discovering purpose.

What is your greatest fear?
A hurtful word being the last thing I ever get to say to someone I love.

What historical figure do you most identify with?
Any philosopher. (I’d say Marcus Aurelius, but I am no royalty and he’s probably just popped up in my head somehow because I admire his ideas so much.)

Which living person do you most admire?
Matthew Gray Gubler. (hahaha)

Who are your heroes in real life?
My mother and my best friends.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
Stubbornness.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Arrogance.

What is your favorite journey?
This life in a macro-perspective. Just, watching the puzzle pieces fall into place. 🙂

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
Certainty.

Which word or phrases do you most overuse?
Maybe.

What is your greatest regret?
That I’ve burned bridges I shouldn’t have.

What is your current state of mind?
Prepping.

If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be?
Communication.

What is your most treasured possession?
My Journal(s).

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Meaninglessness.

Where would you like to live?
Someplace with a “country”/rustic feel (I find city life overly stimulating).

What is your favorite occupation?
Writing.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
The strength of character to do the right thing even when no one is looking.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?
The ability to take care of herself.

What are your favorite names?
Caitlin & Sophia (My mother told me she had planned to make Sophia my second name).

What is your motto?
“Live and let live.”

· • ♠ • ·

Now what d’you say you answer this questionnaire yourself? You don’t need to share your answers if you don’t want to, but, it’s a good exercise on self-awareness. A decade from now you may even look back and see whether your answers have changed (which is what I plan to do). Have fun introspecting! 🙂

One thought on “Answering the Proust Questionnaire

  1. Pingback: My Answers to the “Famous” Proust Questionnaire | Incessantly Inspired

Leave a comment

